Portfolio App: Islamic Calendar Web App - Bugs Here and There

Bismillah,

Asalaam Aleykum brothers and sisters. I hope you have been well, I know I have Alhamdullilah.

In the previous article, I discussed how I'll be working on a Portfolio App for showcasing my skills as a Developer. Well, I started that this morning and Alhamdullilah it has been a rollercoaster just setting it up.

However, before we discuss the Django/Postgresql migrations bug I am currently working on fixing, allow me to explain what the app is about.

The Islamic Calendar: Python, Django, Postgresql, and Amazon EC2

Kaaba, Mecca

As stated in my README file, this project is

A user-friendly Islamic calendar web app, that will allow users to view important Islamic calendar dates and events based on the Hijri calendar.

Project Goals

  • To create an interactive and user-friendly Islamic calendar web application that displays important Islamic dates and events.

  • To allow users to customize and set notifications for upcoming Islamic events.

  • To provide accurate and up-to-date information for users based on the Hijri calendar.

Project Features

  • An interactive and user-friendly web interface for users to view important Islamic dates and events based on the Hijri calendar.

  • A database to store important Islamic dates and events.

  • Customizable notifications for users to receive reminders for upcoming Islamic events.

  • Integration with popular calendar applications like Google Calendar and Apple Calendar.

Tech Stack

  • Python and Django framework for backend development.

  • HTML, CSS, and JavaScript for front-end development.

  • PostgreSQL database to store important Islamic dates and events.

  • Deployment on AWS EC2 instances.

Mistakes in Part One: Setting up

a computer screen with a bunch of text on it

So, as seen in the various tutorials, I am supposed to follow a certain procedure in setting up the Django Project, the Django app, the Postgresql database, and the Amazon EC2 instances.

However, I can now accept that the first mistake I made is not coming up with a complete plan of how:

  • The app should look and feel.

  • The app should work with its various components and technologies.

Having noted that I skipped, I'll go back to that ASAP, however, with setting up the major issue I have is making migrations into the postgresql database.

The specific error message I get is:

raise MigrationSchemaMissing( django.db.migrations.exceptions.MigrationSchemaMissing: Unable to create the django_migrations table (no schema has been selected to create in LINE 1: CREATE TABLE "django_migrations" ("id" bigint NOT NULL PRIMA...

Meaning I need to find a way of specifying the schema to be used in the migrations. An update on how I'll solve this will be in the next article.

If you've come this far, Ma shaa Allah, looking forward to more projects and writeups to follow this one so keep coming back for more.

Asalaam Aleykum!.